New directive on Mutual recognition approved by European Parliament - 19/5/2005

The final and Second reading on the new directive on the mutual recognition of qualifications has been adopted unanimously by the European Parliament.

The text of this document is considered final and unlikely to be further modified by the commission or the council of Ministers.
link to web site


The 52 specialities enjoying full and automatic mutual recognition have been retained.

New specialities will only be recognised when they are present in 2 fifths of the countries of the European Union.

A language proficiency requirement is being introduced.

Other specialities will be recognised on a case by case basis

Rules on acquired rights will be simplified.

New Maltese Specialities included on the list for automatic recognition

Genito Urinary Medicine
Accident and Emergency Medicine
Clinical Neurophysiology
Maxillo facial surgery

Developed by Alert Communications|  Disclaimer  |  Copyright  |  Privacy Policy
Home Home Home